Election Results: Bevin wins governor’s race, down ballot races split

Group Of Young People Standing At The Entrance Of Voting Room

Republican Matt Bevin was elected governor of Kentucky Tuesday night, defeating Democratic Attorney General Jack Conway.

Bevin led Conway with 53 percent of the vote compared to the Democrat’s 44 percent and Independent Drew Curtis bringing in almost four percent.

In his speech Tuesday night, Bevin and his running mate Jenean Hampton stressed the fact that they believe their victory is a “fresh start” for Kentucky.

Republicans were also successful in other down-ballot races Tuesday night, including treasurer, agriculture commissioner and auditor.

Allison Ball of Prestonsburg won the treasurer race, defeating Democratic state Rep. Rick Nelson with 61 percent of the vote—the highest total of the evening. Ball will replace term-limited state Treasurer Todd Hollenbach who was elected District Judge Tuesday night.

Republican state Rep. Ryan Quarles also pulled in 60 percent of the vote in his race for agriculture commissioner, beating Democratic candidate Jean Marie Lawson-Spann. The position was an open seat after current Agriculture Commissioner James Comer decided to run for governor but came up 83 votes behind Bevin in the GOP primary.

The one seat where Republicans unseated an incumbent came in the state auditor’s race where state Rep. Mike Harmon got 52 percent of the vote, compared to the 48 percent received by current state Auditor Adam Edelen.

Democrats were able to keep control of two statewide positions as Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes won re-election and the Democratic candidate was successful in the attorney general’s race.

In a tight race, Democrat Andy Beshear narrowly defeated state Senate Judiciary Chair Whitney Westerfield of Hopkinsville. Beshear, the son of current Governor Steve Beshear, garnered 50.11% of the vote compared to Westerfield’s 49.89% Tuesday evening. Beshear will replace term-limited Conway in the office of attorney general.

About the Author

Jacqueline Pitts
Follow on Twitter @JacquelinePitts

Be the first to comment on "Election Results: Bevin wins governor’s race, down ballot races split"

Leave a Reply