Amy McGrath will face McConnell in November, some changes coming to state legislature

After a week of waiting for mail-in ballots to be received, the final results from the June 23rd primary were released Tuesday. In addition to the mail-in option, Kentucky’s 2020 Primary Election was unique in other ways, having been postponed over a month from its original date, and also allowing early voting measures, in addition to traditional, in-person voting.

Kentucky’s primary election received national attention, as Democrats battled it out to determine who would take on Kentucky’s Senior Senator and US Majority Leader Mitch McConnell. Amy McGrath was considered the frontrunner for most of the campaign enjoying a massive fundraising advantage. However, Charles Booker, a Louisville Democratic State Representative, closed the gap in the final days of the election, gaining tremendous steam in his home city and other urban areas of the state. In the end, McGrath won the Democratic primary with 45.1% of the vote to Booker’s 42.9%.

In races that will impact Frankfort, Democrat Karen Berg was elected to fill out the remainder of former GOP Senator Ernie Harris’ term, who resigned from the 26th Senate District in April. Senator Rick Girdler, a Republican from Pulaski County in Senate District 15, also won re-election by easily winning his primary. Senator Albert Robinson was not successful in his primary for re-election, losing to opponent Brandon Storm in the 21st State Senate District.

In competitive Kentucky House races, House Transportation Chair Ken Upchurch fended off a challenge from attorney Rhett Ramsey in the 52nd District. In the Kentucky State House District (HD) 1, Appropriations and Revenue Chair Steven Rudy was successful in his primary against former U.S. Congressman Carroll Hubbard. House Majority Whip Chad McCoy won his re-election race defeating opponent Don Thrasher in the 50th District.

Other successful campaigns of incumbent House members include Rep. Russell Webber (HD 26), House Speaker David Osborne (HD 59), and Rep. Regina Huff (HD 82).

House Republican incumbent R. Travis Brenda was ousted by voters in the 71st district by Josh Bray with a margin of only 30 votes.  With no Democrat running in District 71, Bray will be unopposed in November.

Incumbent House Rep. Les Yates (HD 73) was also defeated in his primary by opponent Ryan Dotson. Dotson will face Democrat Kenneth Blair in the fall.

In the race to replace former House Speaker Jeff Hoover (HD 83), Republican Josh Branscum won the primary election and will not face a Democratic opponent in the fall.

Find the results of these and many other elections here.

About the Author

Jacqueline Pitts
Follow on Twitter @JacquelinePitts

Be the first to comment on "Amy McGrath will face McConnell in November, some changes coming to state legislature"

Leave a Reply