Members of Kentucky’s federal delegation serving in leadership roles in 118th Congress

Kentuckians are serving as leaders and committee chairs in Washington, D.C. after the 118th Congress was sworn in this month.

U.S. Congressman Andy Barr of Lexington was named Chairman of the House Financial Services Subcommittee on Financial Institutions and Monetary Policy. In this role, Barr will oversee the operations and policy development of the prudential regulators, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, and the Federal Reserve and its 12 reserve banks; identify policies that grow and stabilize the financial system and broader economy; and champion best practices and policies that continue to strengthen the financial industry’s commitment to diversity and inclusion. 

Kentucky’s First District Congressman James Comer has been named Chair of the newly renamed Oversight and Accountability Committee. He previously served as Ranking Member of the Oversight Committee from June 2020 to December 2022. The committee seeks to ensure the efficiency, effectiveness, and accountability of the federal government and all its agencies.

Fifth District U.S. Congressman Hal Rogers has been named Chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice and Science which oversees resources involving the Commerce Department’s Economic Development Administration, the Drug Enforcement Administration, prescription drug monitoring programs, grants for drug courts, veterans treatment courts and other anti-drug task forces.

Rep. Rogers has previously served at the chairperson of the House Appropriations Committee as well as other subcommittees.

And of course, Kentucky U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell has once again been selected to serve as Republican Leader in the U.S. Senate. McConnell became a Senate leader in 2006 and has since served as both Senate Majority Leader and Senate Minority Leader and recently made history as the longest-serving U.S. Senate leader in American history.

Stay tuned to The Bottom Line for more federal news.  

About the Author

Jacqueline Pitts
Follow on Twitter @JacquelinePitts

Be the first to comment on "Members of Kentucky’s federal delegation serving in leadership roles in 118th Congress"

Leave a Reply