Kentucky U.S. Sen. Mitch McConnell re-elected to majority leader post

After holding onto their majority on Election Day, U.S. Senate Republicans re-elected Kentucky U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell as their leader Wednesday.

McConnell, who earned the role of U.S. Senate Majority Leader in 2014 when Republicans took control of that chamber, expressed his gratitude in a statement Wednesday.

“It’s an honor to once again have been chosen by my colleagues to continue serving as their leader,” Sen. McConnell said in a statement. “I know I speak for each of my Republican colleagues in expressing my gratitude to the American people for entrusting us with this majority. We are eager to work with House Republicans and President-elect Trump to bring the national and economic security our nation is asking for.”

The Senate Republican Conference elected its entire leadership team for the 115th Congress on Wednesday which will include: Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) as Senate Republican leader, John Cornyn (R-Texas) as Senate Republican whip, John Thune (R-S.D.) as Senate Republican Conference chairman, John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) as Senate Republican Policy Committee chairman, Roy Blunt (R-Mo.) as Senate Republican Conference vice chairman, and Cory Gardner (R-Colo.) as National Republican Senatorial Committee chairman.

About the Author

Jacqueline Pitts
Follow on Twitter @JacquelinePitts

Be the first to comment on "Kentucky U.S. Sen. Mitch McConnell re-elected to majority leader post"

Leave a Reply