New Republican majority announces transition team, including Kentucky Chamber Board Chair Lear

As they prepare to take control of the Kentucky House of Representatives in January, the new Republican caucus announced the people who will help with the transition of power in the coming weeks.

The transition team, made up of both Republicans and Democrats—including Kentucky Chamber of Commerce Board Chair Bill Lear—will focus heavily on the logistical policies of the Kentucky House of Representatives, according to a release from the Kentucky House Republican caucus.

Speaker-elect Jeff Hoover announced Thursday that the transition team will be co-chaired by former Representative Danny Ford and former Speaker Bobby Richardson.

“I’ve made it clear that I want to change the tone in the House, and this transition team is the first step in that direction,” Hoover said Thursday. “I want to continue working with members of both parties, and to increase the efficiency and effectiveness of the governing process in Kentucky.”

Photo by Tim Webb

Kentucky Chamber Board Chair Bill Lear

At the press conference Thursday, Kentucky Chamber Board Chair Lear said he is “pleased and honored” to be a part of the transition team.

“I think our common goal is to help Kentucky by helping the legislature function in a more effectively,” Lear said. “I think it’s a good challenge and one that’s we are all pleased to accept.”

According to the release, the transition team will include:

  • Bill Lear – Former Representative Lear (D – Lexington) served in the House of Representatives from 1985 – 1995. During his tenure, he served as Chairman of the House Economic Development Committee. He is an attorney with Stoll, Keenon and Ogden and currently serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors for the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce.
  • Danny Ford- Former Representative Ford (R-Mt. Vernon) first elected in 1981 and served until 2013. During his tenure, he served in a variety of leadership roles, most notably as House Republican Floor Leader from 1995-2001. When Ford left the legislature, he served as surplus property director in the Finance and Administration Cabinet under Gov. Steve Beshear. He is the owner of Ford Brothers Auction and Real Estate.
  • Bobby Richardson- Former Representative Richardson (D- Glasgow) served in the House of Representatives from 1971-1990. His service included a variety of leadership roles, most notably serving as the 82nd Speaker of the House from 1981-1985. He is an attorney in private practice.
  • Senator Julian Carroll – Former Representative (D – Paducah), and current Senator (D—Frankfort), Carroll served in the House of Representatives from 1961 – 1971. During his House tenure, he most notably served as the 79th Speaker of the House from 1967 – 1971. At that point, he was elected as Lt. Governor, and then as the 54th Governor of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, serving in that capacity from 1974 – 1979. He was elected to the State Senate in 2004, where he has been a member since. He presently serves as the Senate Minority Whip.
  • Jim LeMaster – Former Representative LeMaster (D – Paris) served in the House of Representatives from 1975-1995. During that time, he served as the Majority Floor Leader for two terms. He currently serves as Vice-President of Business Development for Van Meter Insurance Group.
  • Senator Julie Raque Adams – Former Representative, and current Senator, Adams (R – Louisville) served in the House of Representatives from 2011 – 2015, and has served in the Senate since then. She is the current Chairwoman of the Senate Health & Welfare Committee. She previously served as a member of the Louisville Metro Council.
  • John Vincent – Former Representative Vincent (R – Ashland) served in the House of Representatives from 1997 – 2008. During his tenure, he served as Vice-Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee. An attorney, he serve as General Counsel for the City of Ashland.
  • Alecia Webb-Edgington – Former Representative Webb-Edgington (R – Ft. Wright) served in the House of Representatives from 2009 – 2013. During her tenure, she served as Vice-Chair of the House Education Committee. She is a retired Kentucky State Police Officer and served as Executive Director of the Kentucky Office of Homeland Security. She currently serves as Senior Police Advisor for the U.S. Department of State.

Watch video coverage of the press conference on the Kentucky House Republican’s Facebook page here.

Categories: Elections, Kentucky Competitiveness, Politics

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: