Republicans select their new House leadership team


House GOP elected their leadership team which will be formalized when the Republicans become the majority on Jan. 3. From left to right: Majority Caucus Chair David Meade, Majority Whip Kevin Bratcher, House Speaker Jeff Hoover, Majority Floor Leader Jonathan Shell, and Speaker Pro Tem David Osborne. Photo Courtesy: Chris Nolan, MML&K.

In a closed door meeting of the House Republican caucus Wednesday afternoon, the new GOP majority elected their leadership team for the 2017 session.

Leaders for the new Republican supermajority in the state House will include:

  • Speaker of the House
    Rep. Jeff Hoover of Jamestown
  • Speaker Pro Tem
    Rep. David Osborne of Prospect
  • Majority Floor Leader
    Rep. Jonathan Shell of Lancaster
  • Majority Caucus Chair
    Rep. David Meade of Stanford
  • Majority Whip
    Rep. Kevin Bratcher of Louisville

Speaker Hoover’s election was specially announced earlier in the month before these leadership elections took place. All leadership elections will be formal when the General Assembly convenes in January.

The Republican caucus will also be meeting next week for their caucus retreat to discuss their next steps as the majority party for the first time in nearly 100 years.

About the Author

Jacqueline Pitts
Follow on Twitter @JacquelinePitts

Be the first to comment on "Republicans select their new House leadership team"

Leave a Reply