House Democrats elect minority leadership team on first day back in Frankfort

house dems.png

Rep. Rocky Adkins, Rep. Dennis Keene, and Rep. Wilson Stone elected to House Democratic leadership.

Ahead of the Kentucky House of Representatives gaveling in on the first day of the 2017 session, House Democrats elected the leaders for their caucus.

Rep. Rocky Adkins of Sandy Hook was elected House Minority Leader by the caucus on Tuesday. Adkins previously served as Majority Floor Leader when Democrats controlled the House until this year. The former leader for the Democratic caucus, former House Speaker Greg Stumbo, was defeated in his re-election bid during the 2016 elections.

Rep. Dennis Keene of Wilder was elected caucus chair and Rep. Wilson Stone of Scottsville was elected to the minority whip position.

Adkins is the only member of the previous leadership team of the House Democrats to remain in a leadership position.

The new Republican majority in the House elected their leadership team in the months leading up to the 2017 session. The majority leadership team was made official in the House on Tuesday.

Leaders for the new Republican supermajority in the state House includes:

  • Speaker of the House
    Rep. Jeff Hoover of Jamestown
  • Speaker Pro Tem
    Rep. David Osborne of Prospect
  • Majority Floor Leader
    Rep. Jonathan Shell of Lancaster
  • Majority Caucus Chair
    Rep. David Meade of Stanford
  • Majority Whip
    Rep. Kevin Bratcher of Louisville

About the Author

Jacqueline Pitts
Follow on Twitter @JacquelinePitts

Be the first to comment on "House Democrats elect minority leadership team on first day back in Frankfort"

Leave a Reply