Andy Beshear wins re-election as governor of Kentucky, Republicans sweep other statewide offices

Democrat Andy Beshear has been re-elected as Kentucky’s governor after defeating Republican Attorney General Daniel Cameron Tuesday evening.

“The Kentucky Chamber congratulates Governor Andy Beshear and Lt. Gov. Jacqueline Coleman on their re-election. We look forward to continuing the partnership we have built over the past four years, working together to make Kentucky the best place to live, work, raise a family and do business,” said Kentucky Chamber President and CEO Ashli Watts Tuesday night.

Many of the other races on the ballot saw big GOP success.

Republican Jonathan Shell will be Kentucky’s next agriculture commissioner after winning his race against Democrat Sierra Enlow. Shell will replace term limited Agriculture Commissioner Ryan Quarles who was recently named the new president of Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS).

Mark Metcalf, a Republican attorney from Garrad County, won his election for state treasurer following a contentious three-way GOP primary in May and a race against Democrat Michael Bowman in the General election.

Allison Ball won her election for state auditor, defeating Democrat Kimberly Reeder. Ball is the current state treasurer and was term limited after serving two terms.

Current Republican Secretary of State Michael Adams won his re-election bid against Democratic former state Rep. Charles “Buddy” Wheatley.

GOP candidate Russell Coleman will be Kentucky’s next attorney general, the seat currently held by Cameron.

Meanwhile, Democrats retained a seat in the state House as Adrielle Camuel defeated Republican Kyle Whalen in the Fayette County open seat race to replace Rep. Lamin Swann who passed away suddenly this past summer leaving a vacancy.

About the Author

Jacqueline Pitts
Follow on Twitter @JacquelinePitts

Be the first to comment on "Andy Beshear wins re-election as governor of Kentucky, Republicans sweep other statewide offices"

Leave a Reply