Gov. Bevin unveils Dual Credit Scholarship Program

bevinGov. Matt Bevin was in Russell County on Wednesday to announce a program that will allow every high school senior to be eligible for dual credit scholarships.

Surrounded by students, teachers, and local and state officials, Bevin unveiled the Kentucky Dual Credit Scholarship Program which will provide funds for dual credit scholarships. Every Kentucky senior in the state’s 173 school districts will be eligible to enroll in approved dual credit courses at no cost.

Approved dual credit courses allow students to receive both high school and postsecondary credit at the same time. High school seniors will be awarded scholarships through their local school districts to enroll in a dual credit course. Eligible dual credit courses include both general education courses, and career and technical education (CTE) courses in a state-approved pathway leading to an industry-recognized credential. Local school districts will apply for scholarships for each eligible student and course. Each Kentucky high school is eligible to receive an amount based on the school’s proportion of high school seniors in the Commonwealth.

According to a press release from the Governor’s office, participating postsecondary institutions that want to participate in the new program will agree to the tuition and fees ceiling for dual credit courses. Those ceilings are established in the program’s guidelines which are one-third of the Kentucky Community and Technology College System’s in-state tuition rate. The schools will receive payment when the course is completed.

The new program will be administered by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). Funds that are allotted but not awarded will remain in the Kentucky Dual Credit Scholarship Program and will be used to support districts with the most successful dual credit programs.

The program takes effect immediately.

Be the first to comment on "Gov. Bevin unveils Dual Credit Scholarship Program"

Leave a Reply