Rep. Steven Rudy elected to House Majority Leadership; other members reelected

Rep. Steven Rudy (R-Paducah) was elected to House Majority Leadership Thursday replacing Rep. John “Bam” Carney as the House Majority Floor Leader. Rudy joins House Speaker David Osborne (R-Prospect), House Speaker Pro Tempore David Meade (R-Stanford), House Majority Caucus Chair Suzanne Miles (R-Owensboro), and House Majority Whip Chad McCoy (R-Bardstown), who were all reelected to lead the caucus for the next two years.

Osborne, who will lead the 75-member House Republican Majority Caucus, said in a press release Thursday that passing the one-year budget would be the main focus ahead of the 2021 legislative session of the Kentucky General Assembly.

“Without a doubt, the budget will be our top priority and consume a great deal of our time and focus. It is a challenge to pass a budget in a 60-day legislative session but even more difficult when you have half the time and no idea what the future holds for your state’s economy,” Osborne said. “That does not mean we will not make time for other issues. This caucus continues to be committed to making this state the best place to live and work. The pandemic may have forced us to shift focus for now, but we are still committed to our long-term mission.”

The Senate Majority Caucus held its leadership elections last week, and all five leaders from last year were reelected: Senate President Robert Stivers (R-Manchester), Senate President Pro Tempore David Givens (R-Greensburg), Senate Majority Floor Leader Damon Thayer (R-Georgetown), Senate Majority Caucus Chair Julie Raque Adams (R-Louisville), and Senate Majority Whip Mike Wilson (R-Bowling Green).

Legislators will return to Frankfort for the 30-day legislative session starting Tuesday, January 5, 2021.

About the Author

Jacqueline Pitts
Follow on Twitter @JacquelinePitts

Be the first to comment on "Rep. Steven Rudy elected to House Majority Leadership; other members reelected"

Leave a Reply